Discover: Brewtown Newtown

You wouldn’t be blamed for walking right past Brewtown Newtown, or even not knowing that it existed.

To get there you must pass the eclectic mish-mash that is Newtown. My journey took me towards the Istanbul Grand Bazaar, then along the windows of Elizabeth’s bookstore, and a final left at the sweet-smelling Chocolate Room.

So by the time I got there I was ready to eat.

And I walked straight past it.

The minimalist signage of Brewtown Newtown, accompanied with the floor-to-ceiling windows leaves little warning to the casual onlooker that behind lies some of the best coffee in the city.

Sequestered off the main King Street Brewtown Newtown sits at 6-8 O’Connell Street, and features an ‘artisan’ bakery, coffee roastery and clothing store.

It was as if I’d died and gone to hipster heaven.

Image result for brewtown newtown
http://shayben.com

 

The interior of the café pays homage to the late 19h Century warehouse in which it resides. Dark exposed rafters adorn the ceiling, complimented by the heavy industrial fans that waft the aroma of coffee to every corner.

Despite the dark rafters and exposed brickwork Brewtown Newtown is filled with light; mostly from the huge windows that run the length of the shop front.

The darkness is also expelled by the wait staff.

After taking my seat at one of the table rows that seat only couples I was greeted by the most joy-filled waitress I’ve ever met.

In all appearances, every employee of Brewtown Newtown seemed to genuinely enjoy speaking with me and the other customers, whether it be about their day, or simply the weather. Which overall made the whole experience delightfully memorable.

Now to the important bit; the food.

Brewtown Newtown is renowned for its Elvis burger; a delicious monstrosity filled with ground beef, savory brewnut, Canadian bacon, gruyere and mayo served with chips and relish.

Unfortunately, it was not my day to tackle the beast. The heat of the day and the limited space in my stomach led me to a different tasty dish.

The wood smoked salmon salad with goat’s cheese, caper berries and baby beets is the perfect thing on a warm Australian day.

Doused with a delectable dressing of unknown origin the salmon salad was a lovely companion to my espresso blend flat white, as I was too afraid to attempt any of their four single origin blends.

http://www.toffeecases.com

 

The ‘steampunk’ of Ethiopia was particularly intimidating, combined with the tortuous looking natural press machine, I was glad for the availability of my elementary caffeinated beverage.

Despite the severity of its coffee machines, for me, Brewtown Newtown, offers a delectable space to chill out amidst the hustle and bustle of the city, as well as a damn fine brew.

Leave a Reply

