Stories Within Stories Within Stories

How does my story relate to the grander tale of media?

According to cultural geographer Doreen Massey, space is the ‘simultaneity of stories-so-far’.

Now what the heck does that mean?

Cultural geography is defined as ‘the study of cultural products and norms and their variations across and relations to spaces and places.’

So how culture is defined by different physical items and actions, which all depend on the time and place of where that culture is.

So culture is relative.

Now space is the ‘simultaneity of stories-so-far’.

Simultaneity means for two (or more) things to occur at the same time.

So the space that you perceive is relative to the stories know, which in this case relate to media. Basically space and culture are relative to your life experience.

Then where am I in my media space?

With a few swipes of my fingers I am able to access hundreds upon thousands of new simultaneous media stories, and thus new spaces.

Culture and space, for me, are constantly expanding as I read more, hear more, or see more. All because of the internet, and the plethora of stories that it houses.

But where do I fit in that?

Honestly, I have no idea, as my space is relative to where I am today, and that may have drastically changed by tomorrow.

I guess the only definite in this world of relativity is that media space is ever evolving, and that it is all I can do to try and keep pace.

Leave a Reply

