Ser o no Ser

To Be or not to Be.

Or in Spanish;

Ser o no Ser.

That is my question.

photo-original.png

Whether to continue my Spanish studies into my second year at the University of Wollongong, or to instead focus on my compulsory journalism subjects and that ever-present threat of a 75% average to maintain my status as a ‘Dean’s Scholar’.

Do I continue into the intermediary level of Span251? And whatever difficulties that will impose upon my ability to maintain my other subjects?

Or do I drop it all together, and face the disappointment and sense of waste that I have nothing to show for my year of Spanish studies.

For I do enjoy Spanish; it is challenging as well as fun as a subject, and contains easily-identifiable markers of improvement that my other, more ‘interpretive’ writing subjects fail to hold.

But is there any practical use of me studying Spanish beyond the fact that I enjoy it, and hope that maybe one day I may travel to Spain or a South American country?

Rooftops Of Bilbao City, Spain

I worry that I’m wasting my time in studying a language that I either may never use, or never reach a level of that would be useful. For it seems that at the moment, even after a year of study that received pleasing results, the only thing that I can remember is cat.

Which is gato.

My alternative if I was to drop Spanish would be Jrnl250. A professional writing course that seems as dry and boring as you can get. The subject outline includes FAQ writing, brochure creation, and how to write a how-to-guide.

Riveting stuff, I’m sure.

But wouldn’t this subject be of much more practical use in my quest to obtain one of those ever-elusive positions in the field if written media? Am I squandering my tertiary education on a language I will never need nor use?

At this point my plan is to see exactly how hard Span252 will be within the limited weeks that you can withdraw from a subject without a fee penalty. If it proves too hard, or too boring I will still be able to swap over to Jrnl250, and pray that the first few weeks were not important.

 

 

Adios y buena suerte.

Tayla.

 

Leave a Reply

