Mr Brightside

Coming out of my cage
And I’ve been doing just fine
Gotta gotta be down
Because I want it all
It started out with a kiss
How did it end up like this
It was only a kiss, it was only a kiss
76314_520434397977487_1519136987_n
The opening lyrics to The Killers ‘Mr Brightside’ radiates over the pulsating crowd. My hearts lifts and my eyes brighten as I meet eyes with my friend and suddenly we both know what needs to happen next.

We must dance.

I’m 15, sweating from the 40 degree heat of an Australian summer and exhausted from being on my feet for 9 hours, and I couldn’t be happier. I’m at Big Day Out 2013.

We sprint down the stairs of the arena, and dive head-first into the crowd.

We’re encapsulated, surrounded by the wall of people and the deafening music. We jump as one with the now formless individuals around us, we sing together, we breathe together, we sweat together….

…until it hits us.

That glorious Southerly wind that had deserted us throughout the entire sweltering day.

As one we sigh as the breeze cools our overheated bodies, and in that moment I was no longer me, Tayla, the individual, I was the crowd.

Leave a Reply

